A long-established favourite in the UK, Crunchies are honeycomb dipped and wrapped in a layer of milk chocolate. The question we keep getting asked is are crunchies vegan? Well the quick answer is no, but it may come as a little surprise that even though its centre is honeycomb, they don’t actually contain any honey, the non-vegan part is due to the fact that they use milk chocolate which uses cows milk and hence isn’t vegan.
You can view a full list of the ingredients in a Cadbury Crunchie here
So is there any options for us vegans who want to enjoy a Crunchie? Well, the good news is yes, there are a number of companies who have produced vegan Crunchie alternative products.
You can also find similar to Crunchie style pieces from VeganStores.
There are also plenty of recipes out there for you to make and the best part is all you have to do is essentially make the centre section (which is already vegan) and then dip it in melted vegan chocolate, this can be dark chocolate or a vegan milk chocolate substitute.
We’ve done the research for you and tested many recipes and you’ll find our favourite three vegan Crunchie recipes below.
We really hope they will, we haven’t heard anything yet but like most big companies they do react to consumer demand and feedback, so if you’re really craving a Crunchie you can buy in the shop then it could be worth dropping Cadbury a quick email and letting them know you’d love a vegan Crunchie option.
Our in-house rules:
Good luck :)